fbpx

About

MTTW music theatre in all its forms

The MUSIKTHEATERTAGE WIEN are always looking for new connections between Music, text, space, technology, and artists.

The festival, which takes place annually in September, offers forward-looking in-house productions, co-productions and guest performances from Austria, Europe and beyond. It uses the possibilities afforded by contemporary music theatre to create new perspectives on current issues. As an international festival for new music theatre, we commission and create projects and network national and international players on the music theatre scene and appeal to a young target audience with workshops and low-threshold accessibility.

Through topical themes, participatory formats, a varied programme of educational and supporting events and the festival feeling that goes with it, we make contemporary music theatre accessible and approachable for a broad audience 

"The MUSIC THEATRE DAYS have long since broken the boundaries of the opera genre."

What the MTTW stand for:

Innovative display formats

From theatre on stage to avant-garde VR experiences, from conventional theatre venues to site-specific locations and outdoor performances to digital space - we celebrate the diversity and possibilities of music theatre.

By commissioning compositions and works, we provide important impulses for the further development and relevance of music theatre.

Artistic impulses

International networking

We bring artists and music theatre makers together to promote an inspiring exchange and future collaboration and to strengthen intercultural dialogue.

With our mediation project HÖRBLICKE, the residency programme "What's next" and the Music Theatre Conference Austrian Music Theatre Day, we create platforms for dialogue and development.

Our commitment beyond that

fbpx

About

MTTW music theatre in all its forms

Die MUSIKTHEATERTAGE WIEN suchen immer wieder neue Verbindungen zwischen Musik, Text, Raum, Technologie, Künstlerinnen und Künstlern.

Das jährlich im September stattfindende Festival bietet zukunftsweisende Eigen-, Koproduktionen und Gastspiele aus Österreich, Europa und darüber hinaus. Es schafft mit den Möglichkeiten des zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters neue Perspektiven zu aktuellen Themen. Als internationales Festival für neues Musiktheater beauftragten und kreieren wir Projekte und vernetzen nationale und internationale Player der Musiktheater-Szene und sprechen mit Workshops und niederschwelligem Zugang eine junge Zielgruppe an.

Durch aktuelle Themen, partizipative Formate vielseitigem Vermittlungs- und Rahmenprogramm und dem dazu gehörenden Festival-Feeling machen wir zeitgenössisches Musiktheater für eine breite Zuschauerschaft zugänglich und nahbar. 

„Die Grenzen des Genres Oper haben die MUSIKTHEATERTAGE längst gesprengt.“

Wofür die MTTW stehen:

Innovative Darstellungsformate

Von Bühnentheater bis hin zu avantgardistischen VR-Erlebnissen, von konventionellen Theaterorten über Site-Specific-Locations und Outdoor-Performances bis in den digitalen Raum – wir feiern die Vielfalt und Möglichkeiten des Musiktheaters.

Durch Kompositions- und Werkaufträge geben wir wichtige Impulse für die Weiterentwicklung und Aktualität des Musiktheaters.

Künstlerische Impulse

Internationale Vernetzung

Wir bringen KünstlerInnen und Musiktheater-Schaffende zusammen, um einen inspirierenden Austausch und zukünftige Zusammenarbeit zu fördern sowie den interkulturellen Dialog zu stärken.

Mit unserem Vermittlungsprojekt Hörblicke, dem Residenzprogramm What’s next und der Musiktheater Konferenz Austrian Music Theatre Day schaffen wir Plattformen für Dialog und Entwicklung.

Unser Engagement darüber hinaus