fbpx

ASCENSION

Austrian premiere

ASCENSION

Paul Boereboom (NL), Leon Rogissart (BE)

A sung VR-opera performance in a state of suspension

Taking a step away from wellness and spirituality temples, ASCENSION transforms the concept of floating tanks into a VR performance that explores the boundaries of opera and our perception of reality. In the virtual reality, a state of weightlessness can be experienced, in which the desires of the physical body and the outside world dissolve for a short time. All that remains is to exist.

ASCENSION is based on the concept of a floating tank: a saltwater pool in which you are not aware of any external stimuli and can therefore allow your mind to calm down. You experience the weightlessness that is necessary to reconnect with yourself. Enter Virtual Reality: Transformed into a VR installation, the floating tank becomes a place where the balance between heart and head can be explored. Is it possible to achieve this state? And what kind of interaction results from this?

In the virtual-physical space, participants can explore, reflect and associate with these and other questions. A delicate combination of images and music increasingly dissolves the perception of time and space, the needs of the physical inner and outer world disappear. A place where you can simply just exist.

"I push through the outer layer, the mass. The emptiness. Sometimes gently, sometimes noisily and quickly, but always flowing. Floating, forever floating. A safe harbour in which the inner mantra can echo."
- Paul Boereboom & Leon Rogissart

Duration: 45 min.
Note: Stage fog and strobe lights are used during the performance.

 

Performances & tickets

prices: Category 2

Full price ‚ā¨ 22 | Reduced: ‚ā¨ 12 [Available in the NEBEL combination ticket]

WUK / Projektraum

Währinger Str. 59, 1090 Vienna

fbpx

ASCENSION

Ă–sterreich-Premiere

ASCENSION

Paul Boereboom (NL), Leon Rogissart (BE)

Eine gesungene VR-Opernperformance im Schwebezustand

Fernab von Wellness- und Spiritualitätstempeln verwandelt ASCENSION das Konzept von Floating Tanks in eine VR-Performance, die die Grenzen von  Theater und Realitätswahrnehmung auslotet. In der virtuellen Realität wird ein Zustand von Schwerelosigkeit erfahrbar, an dem sich für kurze Zeit die Wünsche des physischen Körpers und der Außenwelt auflösen. Alles, was bleibt, ist Existieren.

ASCENSION geht von dem Konzept eines Floating Tanks aus: ein Salzwasserbecken, in dem man keine äußeren Reize wahrnimmt und so den Geist zur Ruhe kommen lassen kann. Man erlebt die Schwerelosigkeit, die notwendig ist, um wieder mit sich selbst in Verbindung zu kommen. Enter Virtual Reality: Überführt in eine VR-Installation, wird der Floating Tank zum Ort, an dem das Gleichgewicht zwischen Herz und Kopf ergründet werden kann. Ist es möglich, diesen Zustand zu erreichen? Und welche Art von Interaktion ergibt sich daraus?

Im virtuell-physischen Raum können Teilnehmer•innen diesen und anderen Fragen nachgehen, reflektieren und assoziieren. Eine delikate Kombination aus Bildern und Musik löst die Wahrnehmung von Zeit und Raum zunehmend auf, die Bedürfnisse der physischen Innen- und Außenwelt verschwinden. Ein Ort, an dem man einfach nur existieren kann.

„Ich schiebe mich durch die äuĂźere Schicht, die Masse. Die Leere. Manchmal sanft, manchmal geräuschvoll und schnell, aber immer flieĂźend. Schwebend, fĂĽr immer schwebend. Ein sicherer Hafen, in dem das innere Mantra widerhallen kann.“
– Paul Boereboom & Leon Rogissart

Dauer: 45 min.
Hinweis: Bei der Vorstellung wird Bühnennebel und Stroboskop verwendet.

 

Vorstellungen & tickets

preise: Kategorie 2

Vollpreis € 22 | Ermäßigt: € 12 [Erhältlich im NEBEL-Kombiticket]

WUK / Projektraum

Währinger Str. 59, 1090 Wien